Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger suspended from ECOWAS – Presidency

The Presidency clarified that Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger are technically not members of ECOWAS as they are on suspension due to coup d’etats that illegally removed democratically elected governments.

The source emphasized that these countries were suspended before President Bola Tinubu took over the leadership of the regional bloc. The three countries recently announced their withdrawal from ECOWAS, but the suspension remains in effect until the ECOWAS Secretariat and the Minister of Foreign Affairs provide further clarity on the situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *